Cat Scratches

Cat Scratches

Color my hands and

Splinter-stain my arms

When we play.

He thrashes

Playfully, Breathless;

Rapid wrestles beneath

My grip.

His claws

Gnaw at the skin

and he nibbles it lightly

into shreds,

Painting new and intricate

designs.

Bashful claws slash

beneath silky beds of paws and splash

Cat scratch splatter marks that

Cling to my shattered flesh.

Streams of red streak, trail

like razor blade venom in my

Sleep,

Slit-kissing ink blotches on my

Skin.

The freshly-brewed cat scratches fade

into rough and scuffed-up scabs,

Braille bumps that spell out

Roller-coaster rage and tremor.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

